Skip to the main content.
2 min read

Shoplifting Charges in New Jersey: What You Need to Know

Shoplifting -- the act of stealing goods from a store while pretending to be a customer -- is one of the most common crimes in the United States. Though shoplifting may seem like a victimless crime, especially if the goods stolen were from a major corporation, the consequences of a conviction can follow you for the rest of your life. Shoplifting charges can also result in a loss of employment as well as a permanent criminal record.

The charges you will face in court depend upon the value of the items that you are accused of attempting to shoplift. If you are being accused of shoplifting an item that is greater in value than $200 but less than $500, this is considered a 4th degree indictable (felony) in New Jersey and carries penalties of up to 18 months in jail or up to $10,000 in fines. For fourth-degree offenses, you can contact a criminal lawyer in NJ can help you to navigate your unique situation.

A third-degree indictable (felony) shoplifting charge carries more severe penalties. If the merchandise which you are accused of shoplifting is valued at above $500 but below $75,000, it is classified as a third-degree indictable (felony). If conflicted, third-degree shoplifting felonies are punishable by three to five years imprisonment, as well as up to $15,000 in fines.

If you’ve been charged with shoplifting, your next step should be to contact an attorney qualified to help you navigate the complicated legal field. A third-degree offenses criminal lawyer in NJ can help you to plan your case, inform you of your rights, and do everything possible to help make sure that you receive the most lenient result possible. If you have pending charges against you, make sure that the people you choose to be in your corner are experienced and willing to fight for you. Call us today at 855-370-5359, or fill out our online form no a no-cost case review, your future may depend on it!