Call Today 800-709-1131

Located at 40 West High Street Somerville, NJ 08876


2nd and 3rd DUI Offense in New Jersey, What to Know

Posted by Richard Sopko on Nov 14 2017

Everyone makes mistakes; some are at best inconsequential like forgetting to turn the lights out when you leave the room . Some carry with them huge life consequences that can alter your future. Every time you get behind the wheel of a vehicle intoxicated there is the possibility that when you get out, your future will be permanently altered. You could potentially end yours or someone else’s life. Walking away from one DUI should be enough to never make the mistake again. However that's often not the case, this is a glimpse into the fines and penalties that will be incurred if you receive your second or third offense.

Getting a DUI can result in heavy fines and a loss of license. If you rely on a vehicle for work it can affect your stability. If within 10 years of the first offense you are charged with a second DUI/DWI the penalties will be much more severe. It also won’t matter to what degree over the legal limit you are. Meaning that if you have a BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) of 0.08% your penalties will be the same as if your blood had been 1.9%.

A second DUI is luckily still a misdemeanor in New Jersey, so it will not carry more than a year in prison. There will usually be a sentence of 2-90 days behind bars. There will still be significant charges to be dealt with including the loss of license for a minimum of two years. You’ll have to pay between $500.00 and $1,000.00 not including various other fees and surcharges. You will also be required to use an ignition interlock device both during and after the suspension. It’s safe to say that if you are convicted of a second DUI the next few years of your life are going to be altered in a big way.

While a second offense is tough, with significant fines and potential for jail time, a third is even worse. A third is offense will take place within 10 years of the There’s both a minimum $1,000 fine and a maximum 90 days community service. There’s 180 days in jail to look forward to. Not to minimize the potential jail time and fines, perhaps the biggest penalty of the third offense is a potential 10 year suspension of your license. That's a full decade unable to legally drive.

Hopefully you’ll never find out how these penalties would affect your life. In today’s modern world with access to ride-sharing apps like Uber and Lyft it should be easy to avoid a DUI. If you are facing a DUI and related charges it's imperative that you seek out legal advice to improve your chances of avoiding jail time. It's difficult to fight these charges, no pleas are allowed. Don't make another mistake by attempting to face these charges alone.

If you are seeking representation for a possession of marijuana charge, or an intent to sell call today for a free consultation 800-709-1131 or fill out a contact form on our website for a no-cost consultation.We hope to hear from you today!

Further Reading:

State of New Jersey DUI Violations

NJ.Gov DUI Brochure

Topics: DWI, DUI, Drunk Driving, Drugs, DUI/DWI- Underage Drinking, NJ DUI Attorney, DWI, DUI, DUI/DWI- Underage Drinking, NJ DUI, NJ DWI

Subscribe to Email Updates

Recent Posts

Posts by Topic

see all