New Jersey Workers' Compensation - Worker’s Must Report Injuries to their Employer
If you are injured on the job in New Jersey, it is extremely important that you notify your employer as
soon as possible about the injury. Under the law, an injured employee must inform his or her employer
within 14 days of the accident, or risk forfeiting Worker’s Compensation benefits for that injury. The
important aspect of this rule is that the employer must have knowledge of the injury within 14 days,
but it is not required that the injured worker reports it. A co-worker, family member, supervisor, or
anyone with knowledge of the injury can report the accident, meeting the requirement. However, it
is important to protect your rights and ensure the employer is notified and the injury is documented
within the 14 day limit.
Depending on the severity of the injuries, an injured worker may be entitled to compensation for
permanent injuries that will impact their ability to work for the rest of their lives. However, just as
there is a 14 day requirement to notify your employer of the injury, an injured worker with a claim for
permanent injuries must file a claim within 2 years of the injury. Failure to do so within that time frame
will result in a loss of a permanency claim. To protect your rights and ensure possible claims are not
lost, it is very important that you contact an attorney with knowledge of the worker’s compensation
system as early as possible.
Contact us today for your free consultation with a NJ Workers' Compensation Attorney or Work Injury Lawyer 800-709-1131.